MITO Innovation Scholars Awards Ceremony

MITO2i Innovation Scholars Awards Ceremony

The MITO Innovation Scholars in Mitochondrial Health and Medicine represent a growing community of brilliant minds at the forefront of advancing mitochondrial health and medicine. On April 25th, MITO2i celebrated our 2021-2024 scholars for their commitment and dedication to pushing the boundaries of mitochondrial research.

Through the generous contributions of our donors and partners, MITO2i can sustain its mission of fostering groundbreaking research and training the next generation of scientists in mitochondrial research and innovation. MITO2i extends our heartfelt gratitude for their unwavering support.

This ceremony is a testament to the dedication and excellence of our scholars, as well as the generous support of our donors. Together, we’re shaping the future of mitochondrial research and making strides towards improving healthcare worldwide.

2021 - 2022 Scholars

2023 - 2024 Scholars


MITO2i: Mitochondrial Innovation Initiative




We had the privilege of bestowing the inaugural MITO2i Innovation Award upon Swathi Jeedigunta for her groundbreaking work on Determining the role of PolG 1 in eliminating deleterious mitochondrial DNA from the female germline, chosen by MITO2’s biggest supporter, Thomas Zachos himself.